Branstad appoints three members to the Iowa Board of Parole

January 24, 2011

(DES MOINES) – Gov. Terry E. Branstad today appointed three new members to the Iowa Board of Parole.

Those named today are former Rep. Doris Kelley of Waterloo, retired Pioneer executive W. Thomas Phillips of Waukee, and Jim Felker of Hiawatha, who previously worked in the Iowa Department of Corrections.

“I am pleased to name these qualified, talented individuals to the Iowa Board of Parole,” said Branstad. “They are committed to a fair, efficient and thoughtful process. We need a system that works for the people of Iowa, and they will maintain the safety of our citizens.”

These three individuals fill vacated interim appointments made by Gov. Culver. The positions are effective immediately, and are subject to Senate confirmation.