Office of the Governor of Iowa

Governor Branstad

Gov. Branstad announces appointees to Governor’s Transportation 2020 Citizen Advisory Commission

March 8, 2011

Gov. Terry E. Branstad today announced the individuals who he has appointed to the Governor’s Transportation 2020 Citizen Advisory Commission (CAC).

“I am pleased to announce the appointees to the Governor’s Transportation 2020 Citizen Advisory Commission,” said Branstad. “These individuals will be an asset to the Iowa Department of Transportation (DOT) as they assess the condition of Iowa’s roadway system while evaluating the current and future funding available to best address system needs.”  

Iowa Code requires that every five years the Iowa DOT complete a review of the current revenue levels of Iowa’s road use tax fund and the sufficiency of those revenues to meet the construction and maintenance needs of Iowa’s state, city and county roads.  The next report is due to the general assembly December 31, 2011.  The CAC will provide input into the finalization of study recommendations and assist Iowa DOT with public education about the study findings and building support for the study findings and recommendations.

“Assuring sufficient funding for Iowa’s system of roads and bridges is critically important,” said Iowa DOT Director, Nancy Richardson. “I appreciate the Governor’s interest in this issue and I think a citizen advisory group will be very helpful to the DOT in developing recommendations that are based on Iowans’ input and in helping to inform and engage citizens in the issue of preserving a road system that supports Iowa’s economic, environmental and social vitality.”

The CAC will assist in seeking public input for and providing public education about the study’s findings through six public meetings to be schedule this summer across the state.

The following individuals were named to the Governor’s Transportation 2020 Citizen Advisory Commission:

Co-Chair – Nancy Richardson – Coralville

Co-Chair – Allan Thoms – Cedar Rapids

Scott Cirksena – Clive                                                      

Jeff Corkery – Peosta                                                             

Catherine Dunn – Dubuque                                      

Geri Huser – Altoona                                                            

Jim Kersten – Fort Dodge                                                        

Lindsey Larson – Jefferson                                                   

Rose Mitchell – West Des Moines                                                      

Ann Trimble Ray – Early                                                

Dan Wiedemeier – Burlington

Larry Winum – Glenwood

The following legislators are ex-officio members of the commission:

Chair/Ranking Member of House Transportation

Rep. David Tjepkes (R-Gowrie)

Rep. Jim Lykam (D-Davenport)

Chair/Ranking Member of Senate Transportation

Sen. Tom Rielly (D-Oskaloosa)

Sen. Tim Kapucian (R-Keystone)

For more information please visit