Gov. Branstad adds counties to request for Major Disaster Declaration for Public Assistance

August 10, 2011

Governor Terry E. Branstad has added additional counties to an earlier request to President Obama to declare a Major Disaster for Public Assistance in four counties.

Governor Branstad is now asking that Clay and Dickinson counties be included in a request for a Major Disaster Declaration for Public Assistance for Benton, Marshall, Story and Tama counties. The Governor is making the request in response to the severe weather and windstorms that began on July 9 and continued through July 14. The windstorms caused widespread damage and resulted in large amounts of debris in the four counties.

 A Presidential Major Disaster Declaration for Public Assistance puts into motion long-term federal recovery programs, some of which are matched by state programs, and designed to help public entities and select non-profits. Public Assistance funds may be used for emergency work and the repair or replacement of disaster-damaged facilities and may include debris removal, emergency protective measures, repair of damaged public property, loans needed by communities for essential government functions and grants for public schools.

 For more information, please visit