Gov. Branstad names members of the Iowa Public Information Board

June 28, 2012

Gov. Branstad today named the 9 members of Iowa’s new Public Information Board, which was established this year in Senate File 430 to ensure Iowans have open, transparent government at all levels.

“When running for governor, Lieutenant Governor Reynolds and I promised Iowans we would have an open, honest and transparent administration,” said Branstad. “This has long been a priority of mine because this legislation ensures transparency and provides Iowans the necessary access to their government. This is a new day for Iowans as we hold government accountable and shed light on their activities.”

The nine-member board members are as follows:

Robert Andeweg, Urbandale

Tony Gaughan, West Des Moines

Jo Martin, Spirit Lake

Andy McKean, Anamosa

Gary Mohr, Bettendorf

Bill Monroe, Johnston

Kathleen Richardson, Des Moines

Suzan Stewart, Sioux City

Peggy Weitl, Carroll

Their terms begin on July 1, 2012.

“This board will be critical in providing government officials and Iowans information on compliance with state open meetings and open records laws,” concluded Branstad.