Office of the Governor of Iowa

Governor Branstad

Branstad, Reynolds reveal further details and speakers for the Governor’s Bullying Prevention Summit

September 17, 2012

Gov. Terry Branstad and Lt. Gov. Kim Reynolds at their weekly news conference today revealed further details of the Governor’s Bullying Prevention Summit this fall, including the line-up of speakers and a web site at which to register.

The summit will be held on Nov. 27, at Hy-Vee Hall in Des Moines. Registration opens today on the website: 



The agenda for the Governor Bullying Prevention Summit is as follows:


8:30 a.m.- 10 a.m.            Registration

10 a.m.- 10:05 a.m.          Welcome – The Honorable Kim Reynolds, Lieutenant Governor of Iowa

10:05-10:15 a.m.               Opening Remarks — The Honorable Terry Branstad, Governor of Iowa

10:15 a.m.-10:45 a.m.     “It Takes a Community” Paul Gausman, Superintendent of the Sioux City School District 

11 a.m. to 12 p.m.            Breakout Sessions


Breakout Session One

“24/7 Bullying in the Digital Age”

Marsali Hancock, CEO and president of the Internet Keep Safe Coalition, will speak and moderate a panel discussion, followed by questions from the audience



  • Ben Barry, Guidance Counselor at Carlisle Middle School
  • Elizabeth Englander, Director of the Massachusetts Aggression Reduction Center at Bridgewater State University
  • Matt Shankles, Student at Linn-Mar High School, Marion
  • ·         Jenny Pfeifer, College student from Simpson College, Indianola

Breakout Session Two

“Schools in the Legal Twilight Zone”

Tom Wheeler, Member of Frost Brown Todd LLC, Indianapolis, IN, and Past Chair of the National School Boards Association Council of School Attorneys, will speak and moderate a panel discussion, followed by questions from the audience



  • Drew Bracken, Attorney at Ahlers & Cooney PC, Des Moines
  • Judy Bradshaw, Des Moines Chief of Police
  • Matt Carver, Legal Services Director for School Administrators of Iowa
  • Frank LoMonte, Executive Director of the Student Press Law Center, Arlington, VA
  • Beth Townsend, Director of the Iowa Civil Rights Commission


12 p.m. to 12:30 p.m. Box lunch available

12:30 p.m. to 1:30 p.m. “Queen Bees and Wannabes: Teaching Social Competency” Rosalind Wiseman, Parenting and Bullying Expert whose book became the basis for the movie “Mean Girls”

1:45 p.m. to 2:45 p.m. Breakout Sessions


Breakout Session One

“Sick from Bullying”

Diana Schroeder, Director of Bullying Prevention Initiatives for the Center for Health Promotion and Disease Prevention at Windber Research Institute in Windber, PA, will speak and moderate a panel discussion, followed by questions from the audience



  • Cheryll Jones, Health Services Coordinator and Director of Policy and Advocacy for Child Health Specialty Clinics, University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics
  • Dr. Jennifer Groos, pediatrician at Blank Children’s Hospital, Des Moines, and vice president of the Iowa Chapter of the American Academy of Pediatrics
  • Laura Jackson, Executive Vice President, Health Care Strategy and Policy, Wellmark Blue Cross and Blue Shield, Des Moines
  • Sharon Guthrie, Executive Director of the Iowa School Nurse Organization
  • Michael Peters, Great Prairie Area Education Agency school social worker, Ottuwma 


Breakout Session Two

“The Culture of Mean”

Barbara Coloroso, author of “The Bullied, the Bully and the Bystander,” will speak and moderate a panel discussion, followed by questions from the audience



  • Ella Daft, Student at Newton Senior High School
  • Lori Eastwood, Counselor with Catholic Charities of the Archdiocese of Dubuque, Decorah Office
  • Dave Kramer, Executive Director of the Iowa Pupil Transportation Association
  • Michelle Lane, Parent Advocate for Youngsters with Disabilities, Waterloo
  • Mike Schlesinger, Publisher of the Marshalltown Times-Republican


2:45 to 3:45 p.m. “Leadership Makes the Difference”

Conference-wide discussion moderated by Iowa Public Television’s Dean Borg, followed by questions from the audience



  • Penny Bisignano, Consultant for Bullying Prevention and Intervention, Iowa Department of Education
  • Arthur Tate, Superintendent of the Davenport School District
  • Joel Pedersen, Superintendent of the Cardinal School District, Eldon
  • Emily Domayer, Student at Morningside College, Sioux City
  • Timothy Minard, Senior Vice President, U.S. Distribution, the Principal Financial Group, Des Moines
  • Nate Monson, Executive Director of Iowa Safe Schools, Des Moines
  • Nishan Singh, Student at Iowa State University, Ames 


3:45 to 4 p.m. Final remarks by Jason Glass, Iowa Department of Education Director

# # #