Gov. Kim Reynolds honored the heroic actions of five first responders Monday morning at the 2017 Sullivan Brothers’ Awards of Valor at the Iowa State Capitol in Des Moines.

Marion Fire Department firefighters Zachary Bruce, Jeff Hoover, Peter Lammer & Jeremy Smith pulled a semi driver from his nearly submerged cab. Read more about their heroism here.

Iowa State Patrol Trooper Dustin Henningsen pulled a driver from a burning vehicle. Read more about his heroism here.

The Sullivan Brothers' Awards of Valor are presented annually. If you know of someone whose bravery should be recognized with the award, please click here.