Gov. Reynolds appointed to American Workforce Policy Advisory Board

DES MOINES – Today, Secretary of Commerce Wilbur Ross and Advisor to the President Ivanka Trump announced that Governor Kim Reynolds has been appointed to the American Workforce Policy Advisory Board. Established under Executive Order 13845, this Board will work directly with the National Council for the American Worker, leveraging the knowledge of its members to develop and implement a strategy to revamp the American workforce to better meet the challenges of the 21st century.

“Our state has one of the most innovative workforce efforts in the country with the Future Ready Iowa initiative.  It’s an honor to share our strategy in hopes it can help the nation replicate our state’s success,” said Gov. Reynolds. “I’m looking forward to representing Iowans on this important board, collaborating with top leaders, and bringing back other best practices to help build our talent pipeline.”

The Advisory Board, co-chaired by Secretary Ross and Ivanka Trump, brings together members from diverse backgrounds including the private sector, educational institutions, and state and local governments. The members will provide varied perspectives on workforce issues facing communities and businesses across the country, while raising awareness of multiple pathways for American workers to obtain family-sustaining careers. The members’ terms last until July 2020.

Other members of the Board include:

Jay Box, President, Kentucky Community and Technical College System
Walter Bumphus, President & CEO, American Association of Community Colleges
Jim Clark, President & CEO, Boys & Girls Clubs of America
Tim Cook, CEO, Apple
Tom Donohue, CEO, U.S. Chamber of Commerce
Juanita Duggan, President & CEO, National Federation for Independent Business
Elizabeth Goettl, President & CEO, Cristo Rey Network
Marillyn Hewson, Chairman, President, & CEO, Lockheed Martin
Eric Holcomb, Governor, Indiana
Barbara Humpton, CEO, Siemens USA
Al Kelly, CEO, Visa
Vi Lyles, Mayor, Charlotte, North Carolina
Bill McDermott, CEO, SAP America
Sean McGarvey, President, North America’s Building and Trades Unions
Doug McMillon, President & CEO, Walmart
Craig Menear, Chairman, President, & CEO, Home Depot
Michael Piwowar, Executive Director, Milken Institute
Scott Pulsipher, President, Western Governors University
Ginni Rometty, Chairman, President, & CEO, IBM
Scott Sanders, Executive Director, National Association of State Workforce Agencies
Johnny Taylor, President & CEO, Society for Human Resource Management
Jay Timmons, President & CEO, National Association of Manufacturers
Sheree Utash, President, Wichita State Tech University
Marianne Wanamaker, Professor, University of Tennessee