

PROCLAMATION OF DISASTER EMERGENCY

WHEREAS, on June 21, 2024, and continuing thereafter, a series of severe storm systems affected the state of Iowa; and

WHEREAS, this storm system caused severe weather, including damaging winds, straight-line winds, tornados, heavy rains, thunderstorms and record flash flooding, resulting in significant damage to public and private property, power outages resulting from downed power lines and poles and large debris piles; and

WHEREAS, Harrison, Johnson, Mills and Pottawattamie Counties suffered significant damage from this event; and

WHEREAS, reports forwarded to the Iowa Department of Homeland Security and Emergency Management by the emergency management coordinator within the affected counties indicate that state individual assistance pursuant to Iowa Code § 29C.20A and Iowa Admin. Code 605-11.2 (1) is needed to assist certain individuals and families adversely affected by the disaster who cannot be helped by other means of financial assistance and for whom federal assistance under the Stafford Act is either not available or does not adequately meet the needs of the citizens in the disaster area; and

WHEREAS, these conditions threaten the public peace, health, and safety of citizens of the State of Iowa and have damaged and destroyed public and private property. Because of this, they provide legal justification for the issuance of a Proclamation of a State of Disaster Emergency pursuant to Iowa Code § 29C.6 (1).

NOW, THEREFORE, I, KIMBERLY K. REYNOLDS, Governor of the State of Iowa, by the power and authority vested in me by the Iowa Constitution Art. IV, §§ 1, 8 and Iowa Code § 29C.6 (1), and all other applicable laws, do hereby proclaim a STATE OF DISASTER EMERGENCY for Harrison, Johnson, Mills and Pottawattamie Counties and do hereby ORDER and DIRECT the following:

SECTION ONE. As required by Iowa Code § 29C.6 (1), (10) and 42 U.S.C. § 5170 in cases of Presidential Disaster Declarations, this Proclamation of Disaster Emergency activates the disaster response and recovery aspects of the Iowa Department of Homeland Security and Emergency Management's Iowa Emergency Response Plan and those additional response plans applicable to the counties affected by this disaster and authorizes the use and deployment of all available state resources, supplies, equipment, and materials as are reasonably necessary to assist those citizens located in the disaster counties.

SECTION TWO. I authorize the Iowa Department of Homeland Security and Emergency Management under the terms and conditions as allowed by Iowa law to render individual disaster assistance to eligible residents of Harrison, Johnson, Mills and Pottawattamie Counties.

SECTION THREE. The Iowa Department of Homeland Security and Emergency Management, the county emergency management coordinators, and any other state agencies and private organizations providing services associated with the Iowa Individual Assistance Grant Program or Iowa Disaster Case Advocacy are authorized to share any information necessary to ensure appropriate resources are provided to eligible residents impacted by this disaster. Such information may be shared throughout the implementation of the programs and shall continue for as long as needed to provide necessary services to residents impacted by this disaster, to include after the formal closure of the program(s).

SECTION FOUR. This state of disaster emergency shall be effective immediately, shall continue for thirty (30) days, and shall expire on July 26, 2024, unless sooner terminated or extended in writing by me.



IN TESTIMONY WHEREOF, I HAVE
HEREUNTO SUBSCRIBED MY NAME AND
CAUSED THE GREAT SEAL OF THE STATE
OF IOWA TO BE AFFIXED AT DES MOINES,
IOWA THIS TWENTY-SIXTH DAY OF JUNE
IN THE YEAR OF OUR LORD TWO
THOUSAND TWENTY-FOUR

KIMBERLY K. REY

ATTEST:

PAUL D. PATE

SECRETARY OF STATE