IOWA COUNTS

Response Rate Challenge

2020 Census

Key to the FUTURE

A challenge to 942 Iowa cities 99 Iowa counties to impact the next 10 years of Iowa's future

STATE of IOWA Complete Count Committee

- Lt. Gov. Adam Gregg, Chair
- Sec. of State Paul Pate, Vice Chair
- Rachel Bennett, Ankeny
- Erin Berzina, Sioux City
- Kevin Brown, Spencer
- Deann Cook, Johnston
- Matthew Gilbert, Des Moines
- Dal Grooms, Des Moines
- Mark Grey, Cedar Falls
- Ellen Habel, Swisher
- Scott Hall, Adel
- Susan Hoss, Sioux City
- Benjamin Jung, West Des Moines
- Gary Krob, Pleasant Hill
- Corinne Lambert, Des Moines
- Jean Logan, Sioux City
- Linda Meloy, Iowa City
- Bill Menner, Grinnell
- Noel Mills, Iowa City
- Christopher Nolte, Winterset
- Amy Peterson, Estherville
- Sven Peterson, Perry
- Stephanie Preusch, Des Moines
- Jared Reed, West Burlington
- Surasee Rodari, Des Moines
- Elliott Smith, Des Moines
- Christina Steen, Pleasant Hill
- Tammy Votava, Johnston
- Timothy Whipple, Des Moines
- Mike Wiser, Ankeny



The State of Iowa Complete Count Committee, with Lt. Gov. Adam Gregg as chair and Secretary of State Paul Pate as vice chair, has launched a "Key to the Future" response rate challenge for all of Iowa's 942 cities and 99 counties to boost their 2020 Census response rates.

The challenge is based on the 2020 Census Response Rate Map, which tracks self-response rates of households at the national, state, and local levels. The map also lists 2010 Census response rates for each state, city and county.

2020Census.gov/response-rates

The 2020 Census results will impact Iowa for the next 10 years.

The Key to the Future Response Rate Challenge

Cities and counties are being challenged to meet these goals:

Category	Population	Challenge
TIER 1 CITIES	< 5000	100% Self Response
TIER 2	5000-	2010 Self-Response
CITIES	50,000	Rate plus 10%
TIER 3	> 50,000	2010 Self-Response
CITIES		Rate plus 10%
COUNTIES	all	2010 Self-Response Rate plus 10%

The first city in each of the three tiers and the first county to reach their goals will be recognized with Key to the Future plaques. Each city and county that reaches its goal will receive recognition in news and social media by the State of lowa Complete Count Committee.