The Executive Council of Iowa was established in the Iowa Code of 1860 by the eighth General Assembly of the state of Iowa. The councilā€™s five members include the Governor, Secretary of State, Treasurer of State, Secretary of Agriculture, and Auditor of the State. According to code, the Executive Council has the responsibility to:Ā 

  • Approve real estate transactionsĀ Ā 

  • Approve leases of public landĀ 

  • Authorize condemnation proceedingsĀ 

  • Authorize and pay special assessmentsĀ 

  • Appoint legal counsel and special counselĀ 

  • Authorize and pay court costs and litigation expensesĀ 

  • Settle or compromise legal claimsĀ 

  • Approve bank depositoriesĀ 

  • Provide anticipatory and emergency fundingĀ 

  • Administer trust fundsĀ 

  • Act as the governing body for state employee insurance and benefit plansĀ 

  • Canvass votes cast and required to be filed with the State Commissioner of ElectionsĀ 


Current Executive Council Members:Ā Ā 

  • Kim Reynolds, GovernorĀ 

  • Paul D. Pate, Secretary of StateĀ 

  • Roby Smith, Treasurer of StateĀ 

  • Mike Naig, Secretary of AgricultureĀ 

  • Rob Sand, Auditor of StateĀ 

You can view the Executive Councilā€™s meeting schedule, agendas, and minutesĀ on the Office of Treasurer of Stateā€™s website. For more information, call (515) 281-5368.Ā