Gov. Kim Reynolds issued a proclamation today setting Tuesday, December 14, 2021, as the date for a special election in Iowa Senate District 1 following the resignation of Senator Zach Whiting. 

Iowa Code 69.14 outlines the authority given to the governor to set a special election. Whiting was serving his first term in the Iowa Senate. Senate District 1, located in Clay, Dickinson, Lyon, Osceola, and Palo Alto counties, includes Spirit Lake, Spencer, Emmetsburg, Sibley, and Rock Rapids. 

The proclamation setting the date of the special election can be found online here and reads as follows: 


WHEREAS, the Office of State Senator for the First (1st) State Senatorial District of the Iowa General Assembly, as defined by section 41.2(1) of the 2021 Iowa Code, has become vacant by reason of the resignation of Iowa State Senator Zach Whiting, effective October 30, 2021. 

NOW, THEREFORE, I, Kim Reynolds, Governor of the State of Iowa, by virtue of the authority vested in me by law, do hereby proclaim and direct that a special election to fill said vacancy shall be held within said District on: 


WHEREFORE, all electors within the First (1st) State Senatorial District will take due notice and the County Commissioner of Elections of Clay, Dickinson, Lyon, Osceola, and Palo Alto counties shall give official notice as provided in section 39.6 of the Iowa Code.