Gov. Kim Reynolds today received notification that President Biden has granted her request for a Presidential Disaster Declaration for seven counties that were severely impacted by spring flooding. Counties included in the declaration are Allamakee, Clayton, Des Moines, Dubuque, Jackson, Lee, and Scott.  

Under the declaration, FEMA Public Assistance Program funding is available to eligible public entities and nonprofit organizations in the designated counties that were impacted by the April 24-May 13, 2023, Mississippi River flooding. Public Assistance funding may be used for emergency work, such as debris removal and emergency protective measures, or for the repair or replacement of disaster-damaged facilities.  

The governor also received notification that the Presidential Disaster Declaration includes funding to conduct hazard mitigation activities for the entire state. With this funding, Iowa will be able to minimize the impact of future disasters by taking steps to reduce or eliminate long-term risk to people and property from natural hazards.